Friday 11 January 2019 7.30 pm in Cairns Church


Peteris Vasks
String Quartet No 4
String Quartet in F major
String Quartet in D minor Death and the Maiden

The Navarras are one of Britain's most respected string quartets, admired for the combination of elegance and dramatic flair that characterises their performances. Both are qualities that will be very much to the fore in the Mediterranean warmth of Ravel's quartet and the breathtaking emotional roller coaster of Schubert's Death and the Maiden. Latvian composer Peteris Vasks' highly individual music draws on the folk music and winter landscape of his country but also reflects the influence of Shostakovich.

...their sound was one of very mature instrumental mastery. The players showed with precision and firmness the joyful mixture of intimacy and openness.
ClassiqueNews (France)

« Previous concert  |   Next concert »